Built by the Marshall Brothers of Alpha, Ohio, Kil-Kare first opened as a fifth-mile dirt track in 1951. But after one event the decision was made to pave the track because of the virtual "dust storm" created from the dirt track.

Kil-Kare's first actual "season" of auto racing was 1952.

Kil-Kare Dragway was added to the facility and opened in August of 1959. The addition of Kil-Kare Dragway to the facility made Kil-Kare the Midwestern Ohio's Premiere motorsports facility for both Stock Car and Drag Racing.

Kil-Kare Dragway can trace it's NHRA heritage back to 1972 with our first NHRA Sanction. Throughout the years, Kil-Kare has been named five time "NHRA DIV. 3 TRACK OF THE YEAR". Kil-Kare Dragway has seen NHRA racers the likes of "Big Daddy" Don Garlits, Shirley Muldowney, Chris "The Golden Greek" Karamesines, "TV Tommy" Ivo, Bob Glidden and more. Kil-Kare Dragway has built a reputation as one of the best starting lines around, and one of the most difficult tracks to win an event at. The competition level on the quarter mile is higher than any other track in the division, making every win at Kil-Kare a well deserved, and highly sought after! Kil-Kare NHRA Bracket Finals teams have brought home the Division III Championships five times over the course of 30 years.

The Track was reconfigured into its present 3/8th of-a-mile form in 1955 and was acclaimed as one of the fastest Speedways of that length in the Nation. In 1958, the Marshalls sold the facility to a Columbus-based organization: Columbus United Stock Car Incorporated. CUSI had operated Kil-Kare under a lease arrangement for the year. In 1959 Kil-Kare was formed into the Corporation known today as Kil-Kare, Inc. Over the years Kil-Kare Raceway has provided quality family entertainment to Midwestern American Racing fans for over 60 years!

In 1989 Kil-Kare Speedway became a member track of NASCAR. During the twenty one years of NASCAR Sanctioning, Kil-Kare Speedway has produced three NASCAR State of Ohio Champions, as well as the NASCAR State of Ohio Rookie of the Year and NASCAR National Rookie of the year. The speedway has seen the likes of NASCAR Fan Favorite Darrell Waltrip, who admitted it was a more eleven left hand turn road course instead of a racing oval.