1166 Dayton-Xenia Rd.  Xenia, OH  45385

Kilkare  Speedway
1166 Dayton Xenia Rd
Xenia OH 45385


Xenia OH: It was a full night of speed for local race fans at KilKare Speedway Friday night. In addition to the racing it was EMT/Firefighter Night. Local first responders were on hand to compete in cot races. It was also “Whelen Night at the Speedway”
The 30 lap late model main got off to a rough start as a five car mix up early in the event sent Russ Bobb and Cody Robinson were eliminated in the crash, with Ryan Fleming able to continue after a trip to the pit area for repairs. It was smooth sailing for Mahaffey as he powered his Quick Parts Chevy to his fourth feature win of the season. Justin Alsip was second, with fast qualifier Mike Ward third, Bobby Justus was fourth with Fleming fifth. Mahaffey and Bobb notched heat wins.
In  Modified action, Arlis Williams led the first five laps before giving way to Mike Carroll. Carroll led until lap 22 when Jack Jones got by on the high side after a great battle. Jones went on to win his eight feature of the season in his Horsepower Sales ride. Carroll held on for second followed by Williams, John Donovan and Grant Gamble. Jones set quick time, with Carroll taking the dash and Jay Lakins the heat.
The street stock feature was a thriller with the winner in doubt until the checker flew. Jim Lewis Jr. was the early leader before breaking out and being sent to the rear of the field. On the restart Mark Stump powered his Big Hill Realty Camaro out front.  Stump continued to lead, but the man on a mission as he made his way was Lewis. Stump took the white lap with Lewis on his bumper. At the checker, it was Stump posting his first career win with Lewis second by about two feet. Sites was third, followed by fast qualifier Travis Digges and Josh Longstreth fifth. Lewis was the dash winner, with Bob Stansell winning the heat race.
The compact main saw dash winner Tony Cottrill take the helm for the first thirteen laps in his Honda. On lap fourteen Paul Holley sped by Cottrill. Holley led the final circuits in his Honda to take his third win of the season. Cottrill was second, with fast qualifier Dwayne Snyder third, Ryan Barrett fourth and Nick Barrett fifth. Cottrill was the dash winner.
This Friday (8/23) will be double features in all classes.
Kil Kare Summary: 08-16-13
Late Models:
Fast Qualifier:  Mike Ward 13.656
Heat Winners: Don Mahaffey Jr. and Russ Bobb
Feature: 1. Don Mahaffey Jr. 2. Justin Alsip 3. Mike Ward 4. Bobby Justus 5. Ryan Fleming 6. Jeff Smith 7. Steve Karnes 8. Cody Robinson 9. Russ Bobb 10. Jared Thomas
Fast Qualifier: Jack Jones 13.886
Dash Winner: Mike Carroll
Heat Winner: Jay Lakins Jr.
Feature: 1. Jack Jones 2. Mike Carroll 3. Arlis Williams 4. John Donovan 5. Grant Gamble 6. Shawn Stansell 7. Jay Lakins Jr. 8. Derek Barnette
Sport Stocks:
Fast Qualifier: Travis Digges 15.381
Dash Winner: Jim Lewis Jr.
Heat Winner: Bob Stansell
Feature: 1. David Stump 2. Jim Lewis Jr. 3. Jamie Sites 4. Travis Digges 5. Josh Longstreth 6. Marcus Melzer 7. Bob Stansell 8. Bo Hoelscher 9. Mark Smith 10. Jacob Heckman 11. Chris Harshbarger
Fast Qualifier: Dwayne Snyder Jr.
Dash Winner: Tony Cottrill
Feature: 1. Paul Holley 2. Tony Cottrill 3. Dwayne Snyder Jr. 4. Ryan Barrett 5. Nick Barrett 6. Bill Honious