Kil-Kare Speedway
1166 Dayton Xenia Rd
Xenia OH 45385


Xenia OH (5/24/13). KilKare Speedway hosted the Great Lakes Helicopter Super Late Models Main Event Racing Series cars Friday (5/24).  The lightning quick full bodied late models are always one of the top draws for the season, and this show was no exception. Five drivers broke the track record, with Drew Charlson ending up fastest with a
12.359 lap around the tricky oval.
 The race started with former KilKare mini stock champion Scott Drake taking the helm in the early laps. Drake led until lap 15, when defending series champion Bud Perry shot by with a turn four pass after getting under him. Perry then set sail as he led a three car train, of himself, Charlson and John Long. The trio put on a great display of short track racing as they wove their way thru lapped traffic. On lap 75 Perry began to lose the little lead he had, as it was clear the handling was going away on his familiar #10. Charlson picked it up like a shark on a blood trail and was soon running right off the rear bumper of Perry, with Long riding along in third. Charlson nearly got by on lap 81 when Perry nearly spun in turn 4. Perry was able to hold off Charlson, as lapped traffic played to his advantage. On lap 97 Long was able to get by Charlson and take over second spot. He then set his sights on the struggling Perry. Long pulled along side Perry at the white flag and sped on by to lead the only lap that really counted, #100 . It was a very impressive win for Long, who was making his KilKare debut. When asked about the track seven turns Long stated “ The other drivers told me you had to make seven turns per lap, and I was skeptical”. When asked if he ever raced at any track that resembled KilKare, he had a one word answer “No”.  Perry held on for second, with Charlson third, Donnie Hill fourth and Harold Fair Jr. fifth.
 The KilKare NASCAR WHELEN ALL AMERICAN SERIES drivers also were on hand to race in modifieds, street stocks and compacts.
 The street stock main was great race with an exciting finish. Travis Diggs took over top spot early in the event and looked to have a victory in hand. Fast qualifier Jamie Sites had other plans however. Sites put his Indian Lake Raceway
Camaro on the high side. Sites cruised by Diggs with three laps to go to take the victory. Diggs was second followed by Jim Lewis Jr.,Josh Longstreth and David Stump. Lewis Jr. took the dash, with Marc Stump taking the heat.
 The modified main saw Xenia’s Ryan Fleming put his Jeg’s backed racer out front at the drop of the green flag. It was all Fleming as he held off the challenges of Bill Burba to notch the win. Fast qualifer Dave Barnhart was third, with Brad Williams and Terry Humphrey rounding out the top five. Fleming also took the dash, with Arlis Williams taking the heat checker.
 Xenia’s Bryan Lynch dominated the compact class as he won the feature and the dash in his Nick’s Place Honda . Mike Siders was second in the feature, with Steve Barnhart fourth and Phillip Graham fifth.
 This Friday (5/31) the compacts will take center stage with the 40 Lap Challenge event. The late models, modifieds and street stocks will also be on the schedule.


KilKare Speedway 5/25/13
Great Lakes Helicopter Main Event Series:
Fast qualifier: Drew Charlson 12.359 NTR]
Feature 100 laps: 1. John Long 2. Bud Perry 3. Drew Charlson 4. Donnie Hill 5. Harold Smith 6. Josh Smith 7. Marcus Malcuit 8. John Flynn 9. Ryan McManus 10. Dick Dunlevy 11. Scott Drake 12. Jack Varney 13. Mike Mazzagatti 14. John Stroble 15. Bob Varney
Street Stocks:
Fast qualifier: Jamie Sites 15.444
Dash winner: Jim Lewis Jr.
Heat winner: Marc Stump
Feature: 1. Jamie Sites 2. Travis Diggs 3. Jim Lewis Jr. 4. Josh Longstreth 5. David Stump 6. Bobby Stansell 7. Marc Stump 8. Jacob Heckman
Fast Qualifier:  Dave Barnhart 14.006
Heat winner: Arlis Williams
Dash winner: Ryan Fleming
Feature: 1. Ryan Fleming 2. Bill Burba 3. Dave Barrnhart 4. Brad Williams 5. Terry Humphrey 6. Shawn Stansell 7.Arlis Williams 8. Gregg Jackson 9. Grant Gamble
Fast qualifier: Nick Barrett 15.041
Dash winner: Bryan Lynch
Feature: 1. Bryan Lynch 2. Nick Siders 3. Steve Barnhart 4. Graham Phillips