Kilkare Speedway
1166 Dayton Xenia Rd
Xenia OH 45385



Xenia OH: Kilkare Speedway closed out its 2012 NASCAR WHELEN ALL AMERICAN SERIES action on Friday (8/31). In a season marked with great weather the track posted over 20 events, The night also marked the end of Dick Dunlevy Jr,'s stellar career, as the veteran of over forty years of racing stepped down as an active driver. It marked not only the end of a career that saw him take over 500 feature wins and over 20 track championships, but the end of an era, He started his career in 1968 at Kilkare. Dunlevy was the last of the veteran drivers who was just as good on dirt as he was on pavement. In addition to wins at KilKare, Shady Bowl, Columbus Motor Speedway, Winchester Speedway and Queen City Speedway, he was also successful on dirt ovals like Eldora, Tri County Speedway and Clark County Fairgrounds. The 2012 season had to be one of his best ever as he posted 17 wins in 23 starts at KilKare to claim his goal of winning the track championship. He currently also ranks in the top five in NASCAR state championship points and hopes to pick up enough points by finishing out the season at Columbus Motor Speedway to move at least into the top three. Dick is quick to point out the support of his wife Melanie as his biggest fan and son Ryan as a huge part of his success. Thru the years he has piloted cars owned by Joe King, Ton Stenger, Bob Korn, Paul Storer, Tony Rigney and Ed and Joann Simpson. It has been a great ride for Dunlevy and the staff and management of KilKare Speedway wish him a long and happy retirement.

In racing action Bob Sibila of Germantowmn was able to hold off the challenges of Dunlevy to win his second feature of the season in his West Chester Permits backed racer. Mark Parker was third, with Shawn Stanell fourth and Terry Scherz fifth. Sibila also claimed the dash win, with the heat checker going to Russ Bobb.

The 30 lap modified main saw Germantown's Bill Burba claim top spot in his Platinum Express open wheeler. 2012 track champion Ryan Fleming was second, followed by Mike Carroll, Kyle Purvis and Jack Jones. Carroll carried the checker for the dash win, with John Donovan taking the heat win.

The 25 lap street stock feature Tyler Mahaffey pass early leader Josh Longstreth en route to his fourth win of the season. The 2012 track champion was behind the wheel of his family owned Monte Carlo backed by Main Auto Parts. Travis Digges, Jamie Sites, Mark Stump and Longstreth rounded out the top five. Sites and Phil Gussler Jr posted heat wins.

The 20 lap compact main saw Bo Hoelscher and Amber Sites dual side by side before Hoelsher got by and went on to his 12th victory of the season. Hoelscher was the 2012 champion. Bryan Lynch, Joe Hoelscher, Sites and Paul Holley rounded out the top five. Hoelscher who was behind the wheel of his Car-X backed Honda also claimed the dash win.

The ARCA Truck Series rounded out the nights action, with Cincinnatti's Danny Jackson leading all 100 counters in his Widow Wax pickup. Shawn Szep, Levi Mansfield, Steve Christman and Chad Poorman rounded out the top five. Local favorite Brandon Oakley finished last after being caught up in a crash.


Late Models
Fast Qualifier Dick Dunlevy Jr. 13.728
Dash Winner: Bob Sibila
Heat Winner: Russ Bobb
Feature: 1. Bob Sibila 2. Dick Dunlevy Jr. 3. Mark Parker 4. Shawn Stansell 5. Terry Scherz 6. Russ Bobb 7. Mike Holland 8. Cal Busch 9. Tony Brunke
Fast Qualifier: Ryan Fleming 13.639
Dash Winner: Mike Carroll
Heat Winner: John Donovan
Feature: 1. Bill Burba 2. Ryan Fleming 3. Mike Carroll 4. Kyle Purvis 5. Jack Jones 6. Daryl McKay 7. Arlis Williams 8. John Donovan 9. Grant Gamble 10. Rob Dutra
Street Stocks:
Fast Qualifier: David Stump 15.310
Heat Winners: Jamie Sites and Phil Gussler Jr.
Feature: 1. Tyler Mahaffey 2. Travis Digges 3. Jamie Sites 4. David Stump 5. Josh Longstreth 6. Kenneth George 7. Phil Gussler Jr. 8. John Haney 9. Will Gregory 10. Lawrence Batchelor 11. Jacob Heckman 12. Randy Walton
Fast Qualifier: Bryan Lynch 14.519
Dash Winner: Bo Hoelscher
Feature: 1. Bo Hoelscher 2. Bryan Lynch 3. Joe Hoelscher 4. Amber Sites 5. Paul Holley 6. Nick Barrett 7. Steve Barnhart 8. Ryan Barrett
ARCA Truck Series:
Feature: (100 laps) 1. Danny Jackson 2. Shawn Szep 3. Levi Mansfield 4. Steve Christman 5. Chad Poorman 6. Brandon Huff 7. Stephen Cox 8. Cody Quarrick 9. Craig Meyers 10. Jon Gearhart 11. Al Berry 12. Chris Bailey 13. Brandon Oakley