Kilkare Speedway
1166 Dayton Xenia Rd
Xenia OH 45385

Dunlevy Wins Again at KilKare


Xenia OH: 6/15- Kilkare Speedway held its annual “Kids Night at the Races” Friday night. The event is a real crowd pleaser as young fans get to ride in the race cars, compete in a penny scramble and get a chance to win a new bike. In addition to the kids events a full program of NASCAR Whelen All American Series weekly classes were in action.
The 30 lap late model feature saw Shawn Stansell jump out front at the drop of the green. Stansell held the point until lap eight when fast qualifier Dick Dunlevy Jr. sped by. Dunlevy, of New Carlisle then set sail for his eighth feature win of the season in his Eddie and Joann Simpson ride. Second place finisher Bob Sibila could only watch as Dunlevy's Duncan Oil/Turbo Blue backed racer took the checker. Stansell was third, with Russ Bobb fourth and Terry Scherz fifth. Bobby Justus carried the checker for the dash.



The street stock divison was dominated by New Carlisle driver Jay Lakins. Lakins took his Camaro to a heat race win. In the 25 lap main he led all 25 laps in a caution free race to win his second feature of the season. Lakins, one of the true nice guys in the sport had went ten years without a feature win prior to this season. David Stump turned in a strong effort to finish second current point leader and fast qualifier Tyler Mahaffey was third, with Jamie Sites fourth and Rodney Kreusch fifth.
Josh Longsteth carried the checker for the second heat race.


In the modifieds Grant Gable led the first two laps before Brad Williams took charge. Williams led for the next 10 laps and had thoughts of his first win of the season. Those thoughts were dashed on lap 13 when Xenia's Ryan Fleming took command. Fleming, a second generation driver then powered his Muffler Brothers open wheeler to the win in the 30 lapper. Bill Burba, Williams, Daryl McKay and John Donovan rounded out the top five. Fleming also set fast time with a 13.801 lap. The dash win went to Williams.

The 20 lap compact feature saw its usual fender rubbing action as Ryan Tamburro led the first few circuits. Soon a familiar car was out front as Bo Hoelsher soon took over the lead. Bo, who is small of stature ( he was seen in the penny scramble for kids) but huge on talent drove to his eighth feature of the season in his Car X Honda. PaPa Joe Hoelscher was second , followed by Nick Barrett, Amber Sites and Tamburro. Bo Hoelscher was fast qualifier. The dash saw a great three wide finish with Barrett taking the win. Steve Barnhart carried the checker for the heat race.

This Friday (6/22) will be Customer Appreciation Night. There will be reduced concession prices on selected items, plus fans will get a chance to autograph the start finish line. Racing will start at 8
KilKare Speedway Summary 6/15/12
Late Models:
Fast qualifier: Dick Dunlevy Jr. 13.609
Dash winner: Bob Sibila
Feature 30 laps: 1. Dick Dunlevy Jr. 2. Bob Sibila 3 Shawn Stansell 4. Russ Bobb 5. Terry Scherz 6. Cal Busch 7. Tony Brunke 8. Bobby Justus
Street Stocks:
Fast qualifier; Tyler Mahaffey 15.574
Heat Race winners: Josh Longstreth and Jay Lakins
Feature 25 laps: 1. Jay Lakins 2. David Stump 3. Tyler Mahaffey 4. Jamie Sites 5. Rodney Kreusch 6. Joe Hensel 7. Travis Digges 8. Josh Longstreth 9. Will Gregory 10. Brian Cottrill
Fast qualifier: Ryan Fleming 13.801
Dash winner Brad Williams
Feature 30 laps: 1. Ryan Fleming 2. Bill Burba 3. Brad Williams 4. Daryl McKay 5. John Donovan 6. Grant Gamble
Fast qualifier: Bo Hoelscher 14.820
Dash winner: Nick Barrett
Heat winner; Steve Barnhart
Feature 20 laps: 1. Bo Hoelscher 2. Joe Hoelscher 3. Nick Barrett 4. Amber Sites 5. Ryan Tamburro 6. Steve Barnhart 7. Paul Holley 8. Ryan Barrett 9. Tony Cottrill 10. David Sagers