Kil-Kare Speedway
1166 Dayton-Xenia Road
Xenia, Ohio 45385
937 429-2961
Alfrey Takes KilKare USAC Midget Feature

by Earl Issacs
Xenia OH: (6/1). KilKare Speedway officials stood their ground and beat Mother Nature Friday night as the Greene county oval outlasted rain and cool temperatures to get in the full racing program. The USAC Ignite Midget Series highlighted the nights action. Ross Rankine set quick time with a 13.249 lap during time trials. Davey Hamilton and Gage Walker were winners in heat action. The 25 lap feature saw plenty of action as the lightning quick cars ran wheel to wheel nearly all 25 laps. The race was red flagged on lap nine when Michael Fanelli made hard contact with the turn three wall. Fanelli was uninjured, but a burst fuel cell led to a big clean up. When the checker flew a familiar face to KilKare was in victory lane. Toby Alfrey of Hamilton powered his Alfrey Motorsports ride to a close win over Cooper Clouse. Rankine was third, followed by Walker and Hamilton.




The NASCAR Whelen Racing Series late models, modifieds, street stocks and compacts were also in action. The late model division has became a one man show as New Carlisle's Dick Dunlevy Jr. has dominated the class. He announced earlier in the year this would be his final season of racing after over 40 years of competing on local ovals. He made winning the 2012 track crown his goal, and so far no one has been able to slow him down. He set fast time, won the dash and the feature. The win was the sixth of the season for Dunlevy in the Ed and Joann Simpson stocker sponsored by the Ohio Pain Clinic. Bobby Justus, Bob Sibila Jr., Chad Pendelton and Terry Scherz rounded out the top five. Tony Brunke was the winner of the heat race.



In modified action Bill Burba posted his third win of the season. The Germantown resident powered his way past early leader Jamie Sites and never looked back in his West Chester Permits backed racer. Mike Carroll was second with fast qualifier Brad Williams third, Ryan Fleming fourth and Daryl McKay fifth. Fleming carried the checker for the dash, with Williams posting the heat win.



The street stocks took to the oval next. Jamie Sites of New Carlisle jumped out front early in his family owned Camaro. Sites, with his The Racing Place Indoor Karting sponsored racer set his sights on the checker. It looked to be an easy win, but fast qualifier Joe Hensel tried to rain on Sites parade. Hensel could only watch however as Sites took the checker after closing to his rear bumper on the last lap. Travis Diggs, Tyler Mahaffey and Josh Longstreth rounded out the top five. David Stump picked up the dash win, while Rodney Kreusch won the heat.



The 20 lap compact feature once again saw Riverside's Bo Hoelscher posing for victory lane photos at the end of the 20 lap feature. It marked another great night for Hoelscher as he also set fast time and won the dash. Hoelscher was behind the wheel of his fathers CS and SS LLC backed Honda. Amber Sites was second followed by Steve Barnhart, Nick Barrett and Ryan Barrett. This Friday KilKare will host a full program of late model, modifieds, street stocks and compacts. Racing is set to start at 8.


KilKare Speedway Results



USAC Ignite Series Midgets: Fast qualifier; Ross Rankine
Heat winners: Davey Hamilton and Gage Walker
Feature 25 laps: 1. Toby Alfrey 2. Cooper Clouse 3. Ross Rankine 4. Gage Walker 5. Davey Hamilton 6. Tyler Shullick 7. Joey Greening 8. Chris Lamb 9. Ryan Krachun 10. Straton Briggs 11. Adam Thomason 12. Austin Nemire 13. Calvin Carroll 14. Josh Staton 15. Stan McGhe 16. Michael Fanelli 17. Nick Davidson

Late Models: Fast qualifier: Dick Dunlevy Jr. 13.573
Dash winner; Dick Dunlevy Jr.
Heat winner: Tony Brunke
Feature 30 laps: 1. Dick Dunlevy Jr. 2. Bobby Justus 3. Bob Sibila Jr. 4. Chad Pendelton 5. Terry Scherz 6. Russ Bobb 7. Shawn Stansell 8. Mike Holland 9. Tony Brunke:
Modifieds: Fast qualifier: Brad Williams 13.614
Dash winner: Ryan Fleming
Heat winner: Brad Williams
Feature 30 laps: 1. Bill Burba 2. Mike Carroll 3. Brad Williams 4. Ryan Fleming 5. Daryl McKay 6. Jamie Sites 7. Rob Dutra 8. John Donovan 9. Grant Gamble

Street Stocks: Fast qualifier: Joe Hensel 15.380
Dash winner: David Stump

Heat winner: Rodney Kreusch
Feature 25 laps: 1. Jamie Sites 2. Joe Hensel 3. Travis Diggs 4. Tyler Mahaffey 5. Josh Longstreth 6. Rodney Kreusch 7. Jay Lakins Jr. 8. David Stump 9. Will Gregory Compacts: Fast qualifier: Bo Hoelscher 14.595 Dash winner: Bo Hoelscher Feature 20 laps: 1. Bo Hoelscher 2. Amber Sites 3. Steve Barnhart 4. Nick Barrett 5. Ryan Barrett 6. Paul Holley 7. Joe Hoelscher