Kilkare Speedway
1166 Dayton Xenia Rd
Xenia OH 45385


For immediate release:

Xenia OH (4/27/12): KilKare Speedway hosted a full program of NASCAR Whelen Racing Series stock car action Friday night. Once again the oval faced cold temperatures
for fans and drivers. The track has ran four events thus far with temperatures in the 40 degree range or colder for each event.

The late models headlined the night of speed. Terry Scherz paced the field during time trials by setting fast time with a 13.511 lap. Dick Dunlevy Jr. took the four lap dash win.
The 30 lap feature saw veteran Russ Bobb lead the opening lap as Bob Sibila Jr. made his way to the front. Sibila soon overtook Bobb and took over the helm. Sibila then set sail for the checker. Germantown OH racer Justin Alsip had other plans however as he soon caught Sibila. The pair then had a great battle for the lead with Alsip running the high line and Sibila in the low groove. Alsip loook over the lead in his White Allen sponsored ride. Alsip was able to open up a lead he held until the checker flew to take the win. In victory lane a very emotional Alsip dedicated his win his grandfather who had passed two years earlier. Sibila held on for second, followed by Dunlevy, Scherz and Bobby Justus.

In modified action Bill Burba set fast time with a 13.733 lap. The dash was won by Daryl McKay with Mike Carroll carrying the checker for the heat race. In the feature Carroll, behind the wheel of the familiar Paul Storer owned # 5, took over the lead early in the 30 lap event and never looked back. The win was the first of the season for the former track champion. Ryan Fleming. Burba, McKay and Rodney Kreusch finished second thru fifth.

The 25 lap street stock feature turned from the thrill of victory to the agony of a post race inspection for Columbus driver Mike Litchfield. Litchfield, making his first start of the season took the checker first and posed for victory lane pics and did the trackside interviews. A quick trip to the tech line showed Litchfield's Camaro did not meet weight rules and he was disqualified. The win was awarded to second place finisher Joe Hensel in his Cavalier Tours sponsored stocker. Jamie Sites was second, with Josh Longstreth third, Tyler Mahaffey fourth and Chris Harschbarger fifth. Hensel set quick time with a 15.379 lap, with Litchfield taking the dash win.

The compacts saw Bryan Lynch set a new track record with a 14.446 lap in his Honda. Bo Hoelscher and Steve Barnhart took heat honors. The 20 lap feature saw Steve Barnhart pass early leader Amber Sites to set the pace in the early going. On lap 14, Sites spun on turn 4 after a mechanical failure while running third that forced a restart. On the restart Bo Hoelsher who had won every event this year was caught up in a turn two crash that put him out. It was the capper for a bad week for Hoelsher whose home had been broken into earlier in the week. Fellow driver Ron Sagers started a drive to collect money for Hoelscher to help replace the stolen items. When racing resumed Barnhart was out front, but was soon looking at the rear bumper of Lynch in his Honda. Lynch pulled away to post his first win of the season. Barnhart was second, followed by PaPa Joe Hoelscher, Nick Barrett and Ryan Tamburro.
Craig Edwards was the winner of the trailer race of destructions.
This Friday (May 4th) will see double features for all classes. Grandstand admission is $10.00 for adults, $5.00 for students. Children 12 and under and all active ( with prpoer ID) military members free.
KilKare Speedway Summary 4/27/12
Late Models:
Fast qual;ifier: Terry Scherz
Dash winner: Dick Dunlevy Jr.
Feature 30 laps: 1. Justin Alsip 2. Bob Sibila Jr. 3. Dick Dunlevy Jr. 4. Terry Scherz 5. Bobby Justus 6. Chad Pendelton 7. Russ Bobb 8. Tony Brunke
Fast qualifier: Bill Burba 13.733
Dash winner: Daryl McKay
Heat winner: Mike Carroll
Feature 30 laps: 1. Mike Carroll 2. Ryan Fleming 3. Bill Burba 4. Daryl McKay 5. Rodney Kreusch 6. John Donovan 7. Josh Sage 8. Grant Gamble 9. Josh Smith 10. DeWayne Snyder
Street Stocks:
Fast qualifier: Joe Hensel 15.379
Dash win: Mike Litchfield
Feature 25 laps: 1. Joe Hensel 2. Jamie Sites 3. Josh Longstreth 4. Tyler Mahaffey 5. Chris Harschbarger 6. Richard Gleason 7. Landon Sciacca 8. Mike Litchfield
(disqualified-failed post race inspection)
Fast qualifier: Bryan Lynch 14.446
Heat winners: Bo Hoelscher and Steve Barnhart
Feature 20 laps: 1. Bryan Lynch 2. Steve Barnhart 3. PaPa Joe Hoelscher 4. Nick Barrett 5. Ryan Tamburro 6. Ryan Barrett 7. Ron Sagers 8. Paul Holley 9. Tony Cottrill 10. Amber Sites 11. Bo Hoelsher 12. Davey Shaw