KilKare Speedway
1166 Dayton Xenia Rd.
Xenia OH 45385

Dunlevy Jr. Tops KilKare Late Models

Xenia OH: 4/13/12- Kilkare Speedway's second Friday night of racing for the 2012 season is in the record books despite cold temperatures.
The late models headlined the NASCAR WHELEN RACING SERIES action. Germantown's Justin Alsip turned in quick time with a 13.551 lap. Bob Sibila Jr. carried the checker for the dash, with veteran Russ Bobb doing the same for the heat race. The 30 lap feature saw New Carlisle's Dick Dunlevy Jr. take over the helm in the early stages of the event. Dunlevy, was behind the wheel of the Eddie Simpson owned, Duncan Oil sponsored stocker. What looked to be an easy win for the veteran of 44 seasons soon became a tight battle as Alsip worked his way up to challenge Dunlevy. The pair put on a great side by side battle until Dunlevy finally edged ahead with three laps to go. The win was the second of the season for Dunlevy . Alsip held on for second, followed by Sibila Jr., Tony Brunke and Shawn Stansell.


The modified 30 lapper was a long event for both fans and drivers as mechanical failures left the track full of fluids that resulted in two major clean ups by the track crew. The most spectacular incident happened on lap 21 when with Bill Burba out front Dewayne Snyder broke on the frontchute. The melee saw Snyders car go up in a huge fireball before hitting the turn one wall. Snyder was uninjured. When racing resumed Burba continued to lead on a very slick racing surface. Fast qualifier Ryan Fleming caught Burba and was able to get by when Burba slipped high in turn one. Fleming, from Xenia went on to score his first win of the season in his Copes Distributing backed open wheeler. Terry Humphrey was quickest to the checker in the dash, with the heat honor going to Rodney Kreusch.



In street stock action Miamisburgs Tyler Mahaffey msde up for his spin and crash last week by dominating this weeks 25 lasp festure. Mahaffey was behind the wheel of the Main Auto Parts family owned Monte Carlo. Mahaffey also set fast time with a 15.693 lap. Josh Longstreth was second, with David Stump third, Brian Cottrill fourth and Jamie Sites fifth.

The big question for compact drivers and fans is can Riversides Bo Hoelsher be stopped ? Hoelscher set fast time won his heat race and the feature. The win was the 14th over the last two seasons for the second generation driver behind the wheel of his fathers sponsored ride. Bryan Lynch, Steve Barnhart, Ron Sagers and Amber Sites rounded out the top five. Paul Holley was the winner of the second heat race..
This Friday night will be “Autograph Night” for the fans. Drivers will be available to meet and greet fans during the evening. The grandstand gates wil open at 6. The latemodels, modifieds, street stocks and compacts will do battle.



KilKare Speedway Summary 4/15/12
Late Models:
Fast qualifier: Justin Alsip 13.551
Dash winner: Bob Sibila Jr
Heat winner: Russ Bobb
Feature 30 laps: 1. Dick Dunlevy Jr. 2. Justin Alsip 3. Bob Sibila Jr 4. Tony Brunke 5. Shawn Stansell 6. Bobby Justus 7. Russ Bobb
Fast qualifier: Ryan Fleming 13.845
Dash winner: Terry Humphrey
Heat Winner: Rodney Kreusch
Feature 30 laps: 1. Ryan Fleming 2. Bill Burba 3.Daryl McKay 4. Rodney Kruesch 5. Grant Gamble 6. Dewayne Snyder Jr. 7. Jamie Sites 8. Terry Humphrey
Street Stocks:
Fast qualifier: Tyler Mahaffey
Dash winner: Josh Longstreth
Feature 25 laps: 1.Tyler Mahaffey 2. Josh Longstreth 3. David Stump 4.Brian Cottrill 5. Jamie Sites
Fast qualifier; Bo Hoelscher 14.650
Heat winners: Bo Hoelscher and Paul Holley
Feature 20 laps: 1. Boo Hoescher 2. Bryan Lynch 3. Steve Barnhart 4. Ron Sagers 5. Amber Sites 6. Nick Barrett 7. Ryan Tamboro 8. Ryan Barrett 9. Tony Cottrill 10. Davey Shaw