Kil-Kare Speedway
Xenia Ohio

Dunlevy Tops KilKare Late Model Main

Xenia OH: (4/6/12). KilKare Speedway began its 2012 season Friday night with a full program of NASCAR Whelen Racing Series action.
The late model feature was a great event that saw a three wide pass for the lead as the laps began to dwindle down. Russ Bobb jumped out front at the drop of the green flag and set the pace in the early stages. Shawn Stansell ran down Bobb and got by to take his turn out front. Justin Alsip worked his way to the front and caught Stansell setting up a two car battle that lasted several laps as they ran side by side in a great battle. Lurking back in third spot was fast qualifier Dick Dunlevy Jr. who was looking for running room. Stansell slipped high on turn two taking Alsip with him leaving the bottom lane open for Dunlevy to take the low groove setting up the three way pass that he pulled off. Alsip got by Stansell on the high side and set sail for the new leader Dunlevy.. Dunlevy was able to hold off Alsip to notch the win in his Eddie Simpson owned stocker taking sponsors Ohio Pain Clinic and Turbo Blue Racing Fuel to victory lane with him. Alsip, Stansell, Bobby Justus and Bob Sibila Jr rounded out the top five.
The 30 lap Modified feature saw Germantown's Bill Burba power his Platinum Express open wheeler out front. Burba set a torrid pace as the field sorted its way out behind him. Fast qualifier Greg Stapleton was threading his way thru the field in an attempt to run down Burba. Stapleton got to second before he ran out of laps and Burba drove under the checker to take the win. Ryan Fleming was third, with Terry Humphrey fourth and Jamie Sites fifth. Humphrey carried the checker for the dash.
The 25 lap street stock main saw four drivers start who's fathers have been track champions at KilKare. Jay Lakins Jr., Tyler Mahaffey, Jamie Sites and David Stump are following in the tire tracks of their fathers. Sites powered his way past Brian Cottrill to led the first eight counters before Mahaffey sped past him. Mahaffey was looking for his first when of the season when his night came to a crashing end as he spun on the front chute leaving Sites no where to go, as he was collected in the crash. Both Sites and Mahaffey were done for the night. When racing resumed it was Lakins out front in his Vision Motorsports Camaro. Ten years of trying was about to come to an end as Lakins took his first ever checker for a feature. Stump was second with Chris Harshbarger, Cottrill , and Mahaffey rounding out the top five. Josh Longstreth set fast time.

The compacts rounded out the nights action as they returned to the small inner oval for this season. Bo Hoelscher of Riverside had a great night as he won the heat and the feature after setting fast time. Steve Barnhart had his Honda hooked up as he was the early leader in the feature . The handling seemed to away on Barnhart allowing Hoelscher to close up ground and get by. Hoelscher's T.J. Stables Honda crossed the finish line first . Barnhart was second, with Paul Holley third, Amber Sites fourth and
Ryan Tamborro fifth. Tony Cottrill was the winner of the second heat.
This Friday (April 13th) the same classes will return for a full program of NASCAR WHELEN ALL AMERICAN SERIES racing.
KilKare Summary 4/6/12
Late Models:
Fast qualifier: Dick Dunlevy Jr. 13.502
Dash winner: Bob Sibila Jr.
Feature 30 laps; 1. Dick Dunlevy Jr. 2. Justin Alsip 3. Shawn Stansell 4. Bobby Justus 5. Bob Sibila Jr, 6. Terry Scherz 7. Russ Bobb 8. Tony Brunke
Fast qualifier: Greg Stapleton 13.508
Dash winner: Terry Humphrey
Feature 30 Laps: `1. Bill Burba 2. Greg Stapleton 3.Ryan Fleming 4. Terry Humphrey 5. Jamie Sites 6. Donald Parsons 7. Rodney Kreusch 8. Daryl McKay 9. Grant Gamble 10. Dwayne Snyder Jr.
Street Stocks:
Fast qualifier: Josh Longstreth 15.617
Feature 25 laps: 1. Jay Lakins Jr. 2. David Stump 3. Chris Harsbarger 4. Brian Cottri 5. Tyler Mahaffey 6. Jamie Sites 7. Josh Longstreth
Fast qualifier: Bo Hoelscher 14.651
Heat winners: Bo Hoelscher and Tony Cottrill
Feature 20 laps: 1. Bo Hoelscher 2. Steve Barnhart 3. Paul Holley 4. Amber Sites 5. Ryan Tamburro 6. Tony Cottrill 7. Davey Shaw 8. Ryan Barrett 9. Joe Hoelscher 10. Gary Williams 11. Ron Sagers 12. Bryan Lynch